Friday, June 17, 2011

Today is the day

Good morning all -

The countdown has begun for the Getting Cricky U-Stream.  The U-stream will start at 6pm PST 7pm MST, 8pm CST, and 9pm EST. See you there and then back here for our blog hop!  Actually the hop starts and hour earlier, but if you start hopping first, don't forget to tune into the U-Stream to see the newest stamp sets and also maybe some surprises.  You never know!!!

Now I needed to make an affirmation card.  A friend of mine is going through a tough time right now and she has been pretty down in the of course I am going to go to the Positive Thoughts stamp set by KAndrew.  I tell you what, these stamps are most superior.  There are so many uses for these stamps sets. 

I have never made a tri-shutter card before and although they are pretty easy, I had a tough time with it.  I wanted all purples since that is her favorite color, but none of my pattern paper really matched up, so I did the next best thing and washed some vellum.  All you do is that your vellum and an ink pad in your favorite color and a little bit of water (or in my case a wet babywipe).  I dipped the babywipe into my stamp pad and sort of brushed it across the vellum.  Do this VERY lightly, sometimes I dab a bit off onto a scrap piece of paper also.  If you get too much in some spots just use a new area of the clean wet babywipe and smear it across again.  Eventually it will fade out.  Now I also used my heat gun to "set" the ink.  Then I placed the vellum under some books for weight for awhile and it flattened it a bit.  The sides do tend to curl up a bit, but that either adds to your project or in some cases I just cut where the vellum didn't curl.  As you can see the first panel is curled, but the rest are pretty flat.  It all depends on the look you want to achieve.  I added some purple buttons and a bit of jute and then I also distressed some of the panels with a bit more smeared ink.  I really like the way it turned out.  The large inside panel is where I will write to her.  I also used three of the Postive Thoughts stamps.  I really want her to feel the positivity I am trying to send to her.

Now remember when you purchase this stamp set, Kristal is donating $1 from per set to benefits Storefront Shelter (Homeless shelter for children and youth).  What a fabulous cause.  This is not a one time deal...she will donate each and everytime you order a set

I hope you like my card and can't wait to see you at the U-Stream in about 20 hours or so, depending on when you are reading this.  Hehehehe

Now don't forget it begins at 6pm PST 7pm MST, 8pm CST, and 9pm EST.


  1. Great job all week Brenda!
    Esigmon at cox dot net

  2. I absolutely love this stamp set and love the purple!!! Thanks for sharing!

  3. Lovely colors you have used for this fancy fold card


My favorites have this to say